Daspalla is situated in the middle of Odisha (Orissa). It is 127 km away from Bhubaneswar,the state capital via Khurda and Nayagarh ; 200 km away from Sambalpur via Rairakhol and Boudh ; 140 km away from Berhampur via Aska and Bhanjanagar ; 120 kms away from Anugul via Hindol and Narasinghpur ; 295 kms from Bhawanipatna via Kandhamal, Phulbani; 200 km from Bolangir via Subarnapur and Boudh.

The place is full of incredibly lush of flora and fauna. Daspalla is famous for its jungles, animals and trees. It is one of the major tourist attraction of the district mainly due to the presence of the Mahaveer Temple and the Lankapodi Yatra celebrations associated with it. The Yatra commences on the day of Ram Navami and continues for a fortnight.

The Kuanria Dam constructed by the State government, is considered to be yet another most interesting spot for picnickers. A Deer Park near to Kuanria Dam also attracts large number of tourists every year.


National Highway 224 passes through Dashapalla. Nearest airport is Biju Patnaik Airport atBhubaneswar. The nearest Railway station is Bhubaneswar, the state capital, where from frequent passenger buses are available to Daspalla.


Geographically, it is located at 20°21′0″N 84°51′0″E at an elevation of 122 m above MSL.

During pre-independence era it was a small garhjat (princely state) named as Daspalla State with headquarter at Kunjabanagarh. Its boundary touches the district boarder of Cuttack, Angul, Boudh, Kandhamal and Ganjam. The then Daspalla state had been divided into two Blocks namely Daspalla and Gania.

Previously Daspalla State was divided into 14 praganas with a Sardar as its chief. Daspalla is a place of hills and mountains, forests, streams, rivers, falls, gorge, wild growth and wild animals predominantly occupied by Tribals of Kandha and Khaira Tribe. Presently Daspalla Block has 19 Gram Panchayats and Gania Block has 8 Gram Panchayats.


Available records, writings, books show that at first there was no such place known as Daspalla. Rather it was a part of Boudh State ruled by Bhanj Kings. During the rule of Bira Bhanj there was a rift in between Bira Bhanj and his cousin, Sal Bhanj. The dissident Sal Banj left Boudh and proceeded to meet the Gajapati of Puri through the ages old Jagannath Sadak. While resting with his followers at Padmlatola Ghat, the king of Nayagarh got the news and made alliance with Sal Bhanj and declared him the king of that area. Getting the news, Bir Bhanj of Boudh got angry and sent a troop to capture Sal Bhanj. But the troop of Boudh got defeated at the hands of Sal Bhanj and Nayagarh soldiers. As Sal Bhanj gotYasha (Fame) he named his kingdom as Yashpalla or Daspalla. Other historians tell that king Sal Bhanj had only das (oriya for 10) Pallies(villages) so Daspalli got renamed as Daspalla. This incident took place in 1495. King Sal Bhanj ruled for 3 years only and then his son Naran Bhanj ascended the throne. But records found at Boudh state show that Daspalla was formed by Naran Bhanj in 1498 during the reign of Siddya Bhanj. However it is a fact that Daspalla was formed during the last part of 15th century being separated from Boudh.

The head quarter of Daspalla changed from Badmul to Gania, Gania to Madhyakhand, Madhyakhand to Puruna Daspalla. The nineth king of Daspalla Padmanav Bhanj, during hunting, saw a wonderful thing that a wild dove was hunting & defeating a Chhanchan (Bird of prey) so he thought the place a heroic one and decided to change his capital to that place. At that time there was a Kandha chieftain named Kunj Malik. King Padmanav Bhanj defeated Kunj Malik and started his capital here but after the name of Kunja Malik the capital got named as Kunjabanagarh.

Guri Charan Deo Bhanj was crowned ruler in 1803. He was succeeded by a line of titular Rajas.

  • 18.. – Jan 1873 Narsimha Bhanj
  • 28 Jan 1873 – 190. Chaitan Deo Bhanj
  • *1908 – 11 Dec 1913 Narayan Deo Bhanj
  • Dec 1913 – 15 Aug 1947 Kishor Chandra Deo Bhanj (b. 1908)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s